News Archive
< Back
''Everbright Sun Hung Kai Hong Kong Squash Open 2018'' - A Glittering Line-up Return to Action (Oct 15 2018)

Title sponsored by Everbright Sun Hung Kai and presented by Hong Kong Squash the “Hong Kong Squash Open 2018” as one of the highly anticipated sporting extravaganzas in the world will be performed at Hong Kong Squash Centre and Hong Kong Park Sports Centre from 19 to 25 November 2018.


We are delighted that the “Everbright Sun Hung Kai Hong Kong Squash Open 2018” has been recognized as an “M” Mark event that helps enhance the image of Hong Kong as Asia’s sports event capital. The “M” Mark awarded by the Major Sports Events Committee, symbolizing intense, spectacular and signature event in the territory sports calendar. Introducing by PSA, the new World Tour structure will be adapted from 2018/19 season and as one of the World Tour highest ranked event, the top 30 players will return to this star- studded tournament for a tempting winning purse of HK$3.29 million and demonstrate the best squash to delight the worldwide fans.


The World No 1 and defending champion Mohamed Elshorbagy heads up the men’s draw, the “Egyptian Beast” is seeded to meet the World No.2 Ali Farag in the mouthwatering final encounter while, local top players, the World No.14 Max Lee, World No. 22 Leo Au and World No. 27 Yip Tsz Fung will join the battlefield along with the wildcard holders Henry Leung and Wong Chi Him.

For the women’s event, the world No.1 and defending champion Nour El Sherbini tops the draw whereas the current world champion Raneem El Welily occupies the following seeding. The local highest ranked player, Annie Au who gets back to top 10 this month receives a bye into the round two to meet either Amanda Sobhy or Amanda Landers Murphy whereas her fellows Joey Chan, Liu Tsz Ling, Tong Tsz Wing and two wildcard holders Vanessa Chu and Lee Ka Yi will feature in the opening round.

Mr. David Mui, MH JP, Chairman of Hong Kong Squash attended the ceremony along with the honorable guests included Mr. Yeung Tak-keung, Commissioner for Sports of Home Affairs Bureau, Mr. Li Bingtao, Executive Director & CEO of Everbright Sun Hung Kai, Mr. Karl Kwok Chi Leung, MH, Chairman of Major Sports Events Committee, Mr. Duncan Chiu, Vice Chairman and Mr. Cedric Tyen, Honorary Secretary of Hong Kong Squash, Miss Tammy Ou-Yang and Miss Ng Ka Yee of TVB artists and other co-sponsors representatives to give their supports and anticipation for the yearly tournament.

The first three rounds will be held at Hong Kong Squash Centre from 19 Nov to 22 Nov. In addition, the quarter-finals will be moved to the adjacent Hong Kong Park Sports Centre together with the semi- finals and finals on 23 Nov- 25 Nov.

Tickets will be available at Hong Kong Squash office from 19 Oct. For more information, please check the event official website